In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own or experience.

The contentious argument that whether to work or study erupt an incessant heated debate among many. Some societies often urged the teenagers to have a gap year and acquire some experience. This essay will discuss both positive and negative aspects of this practice. On the one hand, there are various advantages of indulging oneself in work or travel before starting your studies. Firstly, one can get familiar with the job he wants to do in the future. For instance, one can get the exposure of doing different things like sailing a yacht, or being a chef etc. Secondly, it will allow to have the opportunity to visit distinct places and meet new peoples. According to the New York times, 70% of the successful leaders have done the same in their teenage. Hence, it would be beneficial for the students to avail a year before joining a university and spend some time exploring their life. On the other hand, the opponents believe that there are some disadvantages as well. To begin with, a person who utilize this year to roam around, would eventually be left behind in studies by his peers. For example, in some countries, there is a specific age criterion to join certain fields and if you don’t qualify that you will not be selected. Furthermore, this option is expensive and would cost a fortune because one must need money to afford everything from air tickets to accommodations. To illustrate, if a person didn’t find a suitable job to pay for his needs and intricacies, he would end up losing his savings. Thus, one should save the money to bear future university expenses. In the conclusion, there are both pros and cons of spending a year in practical world but surely the merits far outweigh the demerits. Therefore, youngsters should be encouraged to spend a year before going to their university travelling and working abroad.