Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A well-known writer once said that what makes our future is our past. In some nations, it is believed that studying history does not benefit our present, while others think that our past is the lead of our present. Personally, I totally agree that knowing the past can help humankind to live their current life. This essay will discuss the importance of history in today's life. Firstly, humankind will not be able to move forward without understanding the past. For example, the development in technology has a long past, and without a deep understanding of some innovations, scientists now, will not be able to continue discovering new technologies which are mostly based on some old discoveries. One of the most important technologies that started more than thousands of years ago is transportation, such as cars. In case, engineers did not learn about the cars' history and vehicles' development, they won't have the original idea to manufacture today's transportation, such as trains, cars and etc... Moreover, one of the most important things for humans ' life now, is medicine. which established since the human species existed, In the past, ancients used natural substances to treat several diseases which are now developed and used to treat many other health conditions. Therefore, understanding the past of medicine is vital for humans ' health and well-being. Furthermore, by learning from the past, humans can gain information and knowledge on how to prevent mistakes that happened in the past. For instance, educating nations about the world's wars in terms of causes and effects can prevent further wars around the world. This can help humans to survive longer. Also, teaching the world's wars can help the public to understand the law which is based on past events. In conclusion, I would argue that learning about the past can influence our development in the present and for the future. Without understanding history, people would not have perceived the memory of civilization. Consequently, people should be encouraged to understand the past to progress for a better future.