Some people say that the best way to teach children to behave well is to punish them. Others argue that rewarding and praising children is a better way to teach them the difference betweeen right and wrong. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different approaches in teaching children to behave well, and the main debate on this topic is whether to punish children or to use a rewarding and praising system. While one group of people asserts that punishment is the only way to train children to behave, others maintain that rewarding and praising is a better way. From my,perspective it is important to use both methods simultaneously and at the right time in order to reach better results. People who claim that punishment is the only way, in this case, this case are not completely wrong and their opinion is maybe based on their experience in teaching the children. It is possible that parents, who have already passed the period when they had to train their children to behave well, had significant results by using this method, and maybe they have never tried different ways which also can be efficient and, therefore, they are claiming that punishment is the only and the best style. Furthermore, one can be led by methods used to teach a dog to behave using negative impulses for bad behaviour which can be also implemented in training the children. On the other hand, there are people who claim that the use of rewards and praise are better and more efficient ways. Those parents can be also led by their experience with the children which means that if they found this method is the best way for their children, then they will always advocate this method as the best one. Also, some parents can be unwilling to punish their children and maybe they feel guilty when they do that, so they are more likely to use the rewarding methods because they want to avoid the feeling of guilt and sadness. To sum up, there are the two most common ways to train children and both are not wrong and can be used successfully based on parent’s and children ’s personality. In my opinion, using punishment for bad behaviour and rewarding for good behaviour could have the best results, because it has both positive and negative signals that can help the children to better understand what is acceptable and what is unacceptable behaviour.