Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recycling is a much-discussed matter nowadays by virtue of its significant role in saving the planet. Some people surmise that introducing laws is the prime way to increase this action done by people. The idea seems logical to me based on some grounds which will be explained in this essay. Firstly, it is a widely-held belief that people tend to follow legal matters more accurately. It means that, they unconsciously act in compliance with actions accepted as laws more willingly than the ones not. For instance, many people obey the traffic rules as a result of being laws rather than their own safety. There is no exception for this matter and thus, provided that recycling the waste was legislated as a law, people would comply the rule precisely. This may lead to help the environment by saving money, energy, and natural resources. Moreover, as defiance of law in different situations has penalty, a fine introduction for violation of the rule, obligatory recycling, would be a way to enforce people to obey the rule. This may enhance the procedure of collecting and processing the recyclable materials by people as a result of fearing of fines. Admittedly, those who oppose the idea of considering recycling as a law claim that people should not be forced to carry out an action. Provided that the authorities inform them about the positive influences of recycling on saving the Earth, they would do the action spontaneously. However, introducing laws force those who do not care about the environmental issues too. To conclude, it would appear that make recycling a legal requirement help to expand doing it among people, as they tend to bring about the actions accepted as rules more accurately. Nevertheless, people would recycle spontaneously, if government inform them about its impacts on the planet.