The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel

Nowadays, environmental problems are greatly affecting our lives in many aspects. Some people argued that the optimum way to solve the issues is by increasing the cost of fuel. Personally, I feel that raising the price would not be sufficient to tackle the problems. There are still plenty of measures we can take to reduce our impact on the environment. In theory, It is true that increasing the cost of fuel can reduce the times that people drive or take flights, which could limit gas emissions and exhaust fumes, leading to reduce air pollution. However, since driving has become such an integral part of our lives, I wonder if the public would still choose to drive even if the price increased. In addition, If governments frantically raise the price of fuel, the result would be counterproductive and lead to complaints and resentment among citizens. This is a risky move and I doubt that only raising the cost of fuels would be enough to address the issues. Apart from raising the price of fuel, I do believe that there are still plenty of measures. From governments' perspective, they could introduce laws to limit gas emissions from factories and invest in renewable resources, such as solar, wind, water power to reduce air pollution. They could also encourage people to use more less-packaging products and implement recycling schemes. From an individual's perspective, we could use more public transport and take fewer flights abroad for holidays, which can help us to reduce air pollution. From the companies' perspective, they could offer more reusable bags for their customers and build more recycling "banks" for glass, paper and plastic. By reusing and recycling, we can help to reduce waste and build a better environment for the next generation. In conclusion, raising the cost of fuel is not the optimum solution for resolving environmental problems. Everyone must play their part for the environment.