Some people say that punishment is the best way to teach children to behave well, while others disagree and point out that rewarding and praising them is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The best method to instil discipline in a child has become a hot topic in today's world. While some people think that punishing a child is the most effective approach to discipline, others believe that the act of rewarding and praising may work better. I concur with the latter notion and this essay would be explaining both sides in detail citing relevant examples. On the one hand, the main reason why some individuals think that some sort of physical punishment may be a great way to ensure a child behaves well is that he/ she will find it difficult to forget the consequences of a bad behaviour hence, it would serve as a deterrent. For example, a young person who is put on time out or smacked on the buttocks for telling lies would not easily forget the experience as a result is very unlikely to repeat such behaviour. On the other hand, those in favour of rewarding and praising a child might do so on the basis that some people are abusing children physically all in the name of teaching good behaviour. For instance,in some African countries, some children are left with humongous bruises on their bodies by guardians for behaving badly, leading to permanent scars and psychological trauma. Furthermore, they may argue that giving a child a treat or praising would encourage a good attitude thereby reducing the bad ones. In conclusion, although rewarding and praising children may be a good approach to encourage children to behave well, I am of the opinion that punishing a child in an age-appropriate way is the most effective approach to teach a child to behave well