In many places, people’s lifestyles are changing rapidly, and this affects family relationships. Do you think advantages of such developments outweigh the disadvantages?

Our world is advancing day by day and as a result, the way we live also change. While such changes bring us benefits in terms of comfort, it is making our family relationships suffer, which, I believe, is a great disadvantage to us. Our lifestyle changes give us the comfort we need. Nowadays, more people in the household work day to night to earn enough money to support the family’s needs. As a result, they are able to have a comfortable life, able to provide their children with education and able to provide healthcare needs for the entire family. For instance, my father was the only one earning money for the entire family when I was young, and the idea of housewives earning additional income was not popular then. However, this has changed and both husband and wife work in a modern household to be able to pay the monthly bills. On the other hand, lifestyle changes gives negative effects in the relationship within families. The amount of time we spend on our smartphones and computers have increased to the point where we do not even have time for family bonding. When this happens frequently, the relationship between the family members cools down, which could actually lead to unnecessary consequences such as family conflicts due to the lack of understanding of each other. There are even some restaurants that require the customers to leave their mobile phones in the lockers upon their entrance, to encourage socialising during their meal at their restaurants. To summarise, we are, in a way, forced to change the way we live by a lot of factors. While these changes allow us to have a better and more comfortable live, they have negative impacts in our social lives and more importantly, in our family relationships, which I believe is not a good development.