Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do advantages of this trend outweigh disadvantages?

In recent years, having children later has become an increasingly popular trend. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, and I believe it has some obvious drawbacks for each family and our community. There are two main reasons why more young adults are choosing against having children when they are in the beginning stage of their career. Firstly, instead of embarking on parenthood at an early age, modern women are likely to pursue tertiary education and want to move up their career ladder. If they got married and had a baby, the working mothers would find difficulties in splitting their time to devote working and taking care of their offspring. Secondly, the young childless families may have a strong feeling of self-enjoyment. This leads them to prefer enjoying their life rather than raising children. For example, modern women are apt to take care of their bodies and socialize with their friends better than nurture a child. On the other hand, delaying giving birth is no longer every family‘s private affair, but also it strongly affects the survival of a whole nation. This tendency negatively influences old parents and their future kids when the wives decide to have pregnancies. In fact, after 35 years of age, the old mothers may tackle the danger of having a miscarriage or delivering the baby difficultly. Moreover, if there is an easy delivery of the mothers, the babies are prone to be at risk of having Down‘s syndrome. As a result, this can negatively affect the shapers of a nation’s tomorrow and the quality of our future productive workforce. In conclusion, there are some reasons that many people tend to delay having a baby in their life. Consequently, this might negatively affect each family and our society at large.