Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the last decades, smart facilities especially smartphones have developed significantly. They've got attractive features for different age groups and become more user-friendly as it goes. Children are not the expectations in this situation and the number of them who use smartphones for lots of hours has increased significantly. In my view, this can lead to harmful effects on kids' health conditions. In this essay, I will examine the reasons behind it and introduce my point of view. Firstly, as an architect, I strongly believe that building developments and turning villa-type houses into apartments is one of the most important key issues in regard to the situation. To build upon my point a little more, by the appearance of apartments and cities with minimum numbers of public open spaces or playgrounds, children are forced to stay at home. Consequently, they should spend their leisure time playing online games, board games, and other mind-based ones. Smartphones would respond to their needs in such an appealing way. On the other hand, with the development of technology, virtual games have grown and the number of them has increased notably. As a result, when children have access to a wide range of online games easily without any restrictions, of course, they become addicted to it and allocate a significant period of time to it. In my view, Although virtual games can bring lots of joy and can be educative in some cases, kids need time to spend in nature and communicate with real people directly in order to improve their creativity and social skills. for instance, when they play in a park, they should interact with their friends when using playground facilities and by doing so their conversation or teamwork skills will improve. In addition, virtual surfaces of phones would harm their health seriously, especially their eyes and brain. To put it in a nutshell, urban developments and changes in the typology of residential buildings have affected the type of games and made children stay at home and play with smartphones which can be really harmful.