Some people believe that children should be taught a second language at elementary school. What is your opinion?

There is an argument among people about whether teaching a second language to children at elementary school should be done or not. While the children ’s brains are flexible and ready to learn, there may be difficult for them to learn 2 languages at the same time. In my opinion, children should not learn a second language at elementary school. At young ages, the brain is ready and fresh to learn about different things; thus it is easier for children to learn. Moreover, because of their young age, they are more flexible and also more energetic which may be good reasons why learning a second language in elementary school would be beneficial for them. As a proof of this opinion, I should quote from my grandfather which runs like this, ’Anything you learn at a young age, it is like engraving something on stone, it will remain fresh and exact for many years ’. I remember that he read many poems for me which helped me to memorize them and I still remember all of those poems clearly. On the other hand, learning two different languages at the same time may be confusing for children. In the first years of elementary school, pupils are getting familiar with writing and reading skills in their own language and it is already a big challenge for them. Therefore, if they face another language which is totally different from what they already know, they may get confused. As a result of this confusion, they may mix two languages together and may not be able to distinguish them properly. I have heard from a psychologist that in the first years of elementary school when the students are learning how to write and read in their language, making them to learn another language at the same time will be harmful, because they will not learn any of those languages properly which may pose many problems on their future communications. All things considered, teaching elementary pupils a second language is supported by some people. Although Children ’s brains are fresh and ready to learn, learning two languages at the same time can be challenging for many of them. I think, teaching a second language to elementary pupils should not be done.