Many childhood disease can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

There is no doubt that, along with the development of science and technology, new therapeutic methods have been invented. One of these approaches is vaccines which have become a highly controversial topic among parents and the health community. In this regard, some opine that vaccination should be mandatory for all children, however, others believe that the decision should be made by parents. As far as I am concerned, although parents always have the right and dignity to protect their children, when it comes to health, they should rely on what doctors suggest. Firstly, immunizations obviously have survived the lives of millions of babies in recent years. Vaccines consider as a barrier to protect people from contagious diseases. Since babies are much more sensitive and they can easily transmit viruses to other babies, it is necessary that governments implement some policies to vaccinate all newborns. Secondly, some parents are not aware of the importance of vaccination. Also, due to some misunderstandings they believe in the negative effects of some vaccines and do not want to jeopardize their offspring's lives. Taking into account this issue, some campaigns should be organized in order to raise public awareness. For example, some adverse effects have been shown after vaccination but if they know that the advantages of vaccines weigh the disadvantages, they will show a great tendency for receiving vaccine shots. Thirdly, a high percentage of parents find the price of immunization too high. As a result, when adults realize they could not afford the fees, they prefer to deny the necessity of immunity to viruses. Furthermore, some mothers and fathers think that they could protect their children from all the diseases, hence, the immunization process is considered as an extra charge. Therefore, it is necessary that all the vaccination process is provided without a charge. Finally, with respect to the whole views mentioned above, parents mostly want the wellness of their offspring. However, sometimes the lack of information makes them neglect some facts. Here, governments are important keys that can tackle these issues by allocating a huge amount of money to increase awareness and vaccinate babies freely.