Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their abilities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Is it right to say that exams are the only criteria to measure the performance of tutees? As a matter of fact, some critics tend to believe that school examinations are unwanted stress while others say it is the better way to understand the learner's capability. This essay will shed light on both of these views in the following paragraphs. To begin with the first notion, school exams are not known as the criteria to evaluate the intelligence level and behavioral performance of students for no reason. Simply put, faculty can get an idea of the understanding of frosh about the particular field by taking an exam. Moreover, the educational institutes that are orthodox to exam culture more likely to encourage the candidate with the grades. This process not only maintains the interest of scholars in their studies but also builds a sense of competition with their classmates. To cite an example, China hosts the university entrance exam once every four years, Coed works round the clock to crack this exam so that they can get admission to a public university. Therefore, examination helps the administration filter out the cream pupils for college-level evaluation. On the other hand, it is also true that school tests give psychological pressure to the novitiate. Especially, teenagers are very delicate, they are not as strong as adults are. Rather than focusing on learning course concepts, they indulge themselves in getting good grades in exams at any cost. Owing to this, they avoid digging deeper into the insights of lecture topics and cramming the content for the sake of better marks, which causes mental pressure that affects their innovative skills. To exemplify, a painstaking survey has been recently carried out by the Indian government on a group of 7 institutes, which further unfolded that 80% of undergraduates bury themselves in the books and cram the program syllabus to get passing marks in place of learning something new. Hence, their abilities are not judged through this process but it generates a huge stress. To recapitulate, but without any doubt, it can be asserted that assessment tests analyze protege abilities but they also give stress because of the fear of competition or failure. In my perspective, to balance student life, an equilibrium is needed to stabilize the academic workload which reduces mental pain and improves performance.