Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The trend in self-employment amongst young generations is constantly rising, as they feel the need to prove themselves rather than having to work as a firm’s employee. This happens for several reasons and despite many significant benefits, the phenomenon also brings about distinct deficits on personal and societal aspects for these trenders. To begin with, freelancers are ubiquitously seen in the modern workforce because of the higher level of controllability and the flexibility in working hours. Firstly, millennials and generations Z always endeavour to showcase their capabilities in their jobs. Being self-employed enhances the opportunities to be more creative and outstanding in their work, rather than having to listen to or follow a superior’s guidance on a daily basis. Furthermore, as most nine-to-five jobs elevate a sense of boredom, working as a freelancer means that individuals do not stick to a strict rule of working hours, they only need to work when they want to, for their desired amount of time. Because of these two benefits, many people choose to be self-employed. However, working by oneself brings about other major concerns, as freelancers would have lower credibility than a more powerful firm, and that they have to carry more responsibility than a mere employee. It is admitted that customers opt for a well-known brand or a long term company to work with, regardless of how excellent other self-employed products are. A prime example of this is when one’s computer is damaged, he tends to go to a company specialising in IT instead of looking for a local devices’ repairer. Also, freelancers have to be in charge of almost every department in their company, such as sales, marketing, and customer service. Consequently, the amount of workload is never-ending which develops to burnout. In conclusion, a growth in self-employment is due to the ultimate convenience in both working independently and self-express. However, the demerits of this trend should not be overlooked in order to make people work more efficiently and thrive endlessly/to the utmost.