Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school, some people believe that this has negative development while others think there are some benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that commuters are spending an increasing amount of time commuting to workplace or academic institutes every day. While many people believe that there are some positive aspects to this tendency. I would argue that it has more significant drawbacks. There is no doubt that the travelling time to work or school is a great opportunity for people to enjoy themselves. Firstly, commuters can take advantage of a longer ride to achieve their unfinished work or contemplate solutions to any problems. for instance, students generally spend around one to two hours every day on a bus or train, which is a great moment for them to revise their knowledge before going to school or get their homework done. Additionally, spending hours on means of public transportation is a relaxing method which not only passengers can pursue their interest in reading or listening to music, but they also watch scenes passing as a good way to recharge energy. It is easy to catch sight of office workers in Japan, who have a quick nap as a rest after working around the clock. On the other hand, spending longer travelling time to work or school have negative effects on people’s life. Sitting for long hours on public and even private vehicles has resulted in serious physical health problems, such as spinal injuries, arthritis or heart attack and so on. Seriously, driving requires a high level of alertness and concentration, which any sleepiness and fatigue can lead to fatal accidents. Last but not least, instead of enjoying their moment with their loved ones or pursuing their hobbies, commuters who spend more time on a crowded bus or in traffic jams during rush hours, have less time for their productive activities as well as easily suffer from stress. In conclusion, while there are some merits from a longer hour commuting every day to work or school, it is undoubtedly that the disadvantages of this tendency are more significant and has adverse implications on the quality of people’s life.