*In many cities an increasing number of people do not know their neighbours and there is lack of a sense of community.* *What are the causes of this problem?* *How can it be solved?*

These days, the number of people who do not know their neighbours has been increasing and the sense of community is lost. The main reasons are the excessive use of social media and busy competitive life people are facing, but there are ways to solve problems. In this essay, I will discuss those problems. Firstly, social media is now rapidly developing and are well-known by not only children but also adults. Making friends online boosts an individual's confidence and self-esteem, people usually feel shy and awkward when talking to new friends in virtual life, this happens with those who have a lot to say but hesitate to speak up for fear of rejection and racism and social media minimizes that risk. Social media brings people safe feelings, allows them to express themselves and it becomes easier to make friends or speak up about things they couldn’t speak in real life. Therefore, people preferred making friends through online learning better than talking in front of people. Secondly, people are living an especially busy and competitive life, works are now more competitive that people work more hours and decrease their talking time with neighbours. Children no longer have good times playing with their neighbour’s friends when facing more homework and pressures at school, not only that they have to face but also high expectations on academic levels from their parents. As a result, adults and children are forced to stay at home rather than spending time interacting with their neighbours such as visiting home or having dinner together. In conclusion, the excessive use of social media and busy competitive life are the main obstacles that lead to less communicating in neighbourhood. However, with community support and a personal will to interact with each other, people can break all these community barriers and create more meaningful relationships with people in their neighbourhood.