The influence of human beings on the world’s ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of biodiversity. What are the primary causes of the loss of biodiversity? What solutions can you suggest?

There is no doubt that the condition of the natural environment has brutally deteriorated over the last few decades. These appalling circumstances that our biosphere is facing today are a direct consequence of the actions of humankind. Over the course of a short period, innumerable species of plant and animal life have either become extinct or endangered to a critical level. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on the causes of this occurrence and suggest possible solutions to tackle this situation. First and foremost, we must acknowledge that modernisation has been detrimental to our natural habitat. The advancement that humans have made in every aspect of life has come at a tremendous cost. From the ability to mass-produce commodities to technological developments, every facility employed by the public has an adverse effect on the environment. One of the prime examples of this is the extensive deforestation that is prevalent in today’s world. As we know, land resources are limited in nature. With the skyrocketing demand for construction spaces, massive amounts of vegetation are depleted, leading to the eradication of various plant and animal species that reside in such areas, affecting the whole ecosystem. Moreover, exploitation and inefficient use of resources lead to depletion and pollution. This, in turn, causes various diseases and affects all forms of life. For example, air pollution causes breathing problems in humans, water pollution leads to phenomena like algal bloom and destroys aquatic life, land pollution creates barrenness of the earth, etc. That being said, corrective measures must be taken immediately to curb the further degradation of our ecosystem. In order to create a restraint the depletion of biodiversity, it is essential that the efforts of both global and local organizations coalesce. Firstly, stringent laws must be established to reduce the extermination of wildlife, and environmental laws must be implemented for the protection of natural resources from overuse. Secondly, the use of products derived from exotic plant and animal species must be entirely banned to safeguard endangered breeds. Furthermore, spreading awareness among the public is very important to make them realize how their actions are affecting our environment. Finally, it is quite evident that the modern lifestyle that we follow has led to the destruction of our natural surroundings. We must alleviate these circumstances and live in harmony with our environment.