Many claim that the fast food industry had a negative effect on evironment, eating habit and families. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The recent years have seen the fast- food sector expanding quickly all over the world. Many people argue that this trend creates a negative impact on various aspects, including the environment, eating habits, and families. In my opinion, I agree with this sentiment but there are also good sides to this expansion. There are clear adverse impacts that the fast- food sector brings to our society. First, most fast- food chains do not care for the environment as they often use plastic utensils and food containers. This produces a huge amount of plastic waste that builds up and goes unanswered. Second, due to the high-fat, low-fibre nature of most fast food dishes, individuals who consume these daily experience a change in their eating habits, resulting in a poor diet which can cause detrimental effects on their well-being. Last but not least, the bonding time in a family meal is damaged as most fast food meals are consumed outside and alone, in a quick manner. All these negative consequences are rooted in the advancement of the fast- food industry. On the other hand, the quick development of the fast- food industry has its merits as fast food is essential to our busy society. This is because many individuals who are of the working class cannot afford both the time and money to prepare a meal at home or eat out at a fancy restaurant. For example, in my country Vietnam, a developing country with most people running the rat race that needs a quick, calories-rich meal to get back to work in time and at a fair price. Thanks to the availability of the many fast- food restaurants, they can do just this and carry on with their daily lives. All in all, it seems that although the development of the fast- food industry brings about a positive point, I fully agree that there are clear negative effects that this phenomenon brings to our society.