In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertisements have become a vital part of businesses in modern days and they, therefore, try to show their products ‘ superiorities by presenting them to be new. In my opinion, showing that how new a product is, could be either positive or negative from different perspectives. In my point of view, the reason that companies tend to show their product either new or different is to increase their sales. It is clear that the main goal of every company is to boost its profit. Therefore, it is obvious that increasing the shareholders' profits cannot be achieved unless the sales have risen. For example, there can be a variety of the same tools for digging a garden, thus, the sales manager tries to present a tool that has a new substance for making the action easier. By contrast, a digging tool that has no preferences compared with others might be more challenging to be bought. Various methods used for marketing may have positive or negative effects. The positive point is that people can realize a need they have not noticed before or they may find it easier to have a subject that is more modern than one they currently own. However, manipulative advertisements can make a negative reputation for the brand image. For instance, an individual may buy a production after a misunderstanding caused by the companies’ advertisements. The customer may wrongly think that the product X is different from the one he or she had before and thereby he would be dissatisfied. In conclusion, every company needs to advertise its production, wisely and effectively while avoiding it to be manipulative.