In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In recent decades, the number of people who are eager to figure out more about their residence place regarding its history has increased in some countries. There are a number of reasons behind such interests including their safety or changing their places to a source of income for such a trend. If someone is searching for the history of their houses, they can refer to local offices or simply ask neighbors for first hand information. In some regions around the world there is a growing interest in investigating the history of the houses by residents due to some reasons. Having knowledge about a building, when and how it was constructed, reassure the people settled there regarding its safety. Whether the building is solid enough or there are minor or even major issues, can be scrutinized by such data to take further actions if necessary. Furthermore, as more and more houses are entitled as house museums since a celebrity has lived there or it has stood through significant historical eras, some residents research the background of their residence to earn money from it. Knowing that Professor Hesabi, a famous Iranian Scientist, had lived in a house in Tehran, change the image of that place to somewhere that is worth visiting and brought the owners a fortune. Therefore, if a building has such a history, it can become a source of income and a motivation to find about its history. Regarding the ways people can acquire evidence about their dwelling places, there are usually two major sources: using the resources of local libraries, municipality offices, or such places where these kinds of information is classified and in access; and asking neighbors who have settled there long enough to eye-witness and recall modifications in the area. However, none of these resources can normally stand alone and needs to be verified by each other. By way of conclusion, whatever the rationals behind the searches for the history of an accommodation are, either safety or income, there are some sources to refer to. While some visit local offices to get trustworthy evidence and others ask the neighbors, a third group combine these to both gather information and listen to the nearby residences to guarantee the outcomes.