Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the number of universities that offer their courses on the Internet is increasing, significantly. This trend is one of the controversial topics, I suppose. While some people think that a system of online classes is positive, others believe that this is a negative development. This essay, as my opinion leads to, will try to elaborate on reasons why I think these online courses are bad for students with some considerations. To commence with, I personally believe that all students should take as many classes as possible in real classrooms. One of the reasons is that there are a lot of physical students with different cultural backgrounds, which means that students can have many opportunities to broaden their horizons through different kinds of perspectives. What is more, another reason is that face-to-face communication is crucial for students. To clarify this, not only students and but also professors can understand their ideas or feelings more by face-to-face communication. Therefore, there is no doubt that taking lessons directly may generate more advantages than disadvantages. Despite the aforementioned advantages of real classes, it is true that online courses can overcome geographical barriers, leading to a significant rise in the number of international excellent students. However, it should be noted that physical university friends are the most important for students in terms of school life. For example, there are a lot of facilities such as libraries, museums, and bars in the university which help students to enjoy campus life more with their friends. In addition, at schools students can ask their friends questions directly which they can not understand well when they are part of a study group. Furthermore, interacting with a close social network via not digital devices but face-to-face communication reduces the occurrence of depression. That is to say, being physical friends creates strong emotional supports. That is why real friends can have positive effects on each other. To sum up, it is true that both ways to take classes have positive aspects; however, I strongly believe that taking real lessons with their friends means one of the joys and purposes for university students.