Today, many people do not know their neighbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

in this modern era, most people leave their homes very early at dawn and returns very late at night due to the nature of works they do. therefore, hardly do people know their co-tenants especially in the urban areas. could such behaviour be harmful? what are some possible solutions for this attitude? in this essay, some of the negative effects will be discussed and some suggested ideas to help curb such problems will be made. on the one hand, most people are left isolated and hence depression may set in. for instance, the rate at which individuals are committing suicide in their rooms are alarming these days. there is a saying that, a problem shared is half solved. when there is no communication between them, nobody cares about what the other person is going through. to add to the first, in cases of emergencies at workplaces, it will be very hard to identify the individual's home. some possible solutions can be put in place. firstly, society must develop the habit of exchanging greetings with their co-neighbours. this is because one might not know the day and time he might be of need. secondly, parties could be organized in their various homes to unite them. by so doing, they will get to know themselves well and assist each other. however, other forms of communication could be used if the physical approach could be difficult. for example, every household could create a social media platform such as a WhatsApp account, skype and Facebook account of which they could share their pictures and communicate. in conclusion, although most communities want to live their private lives in this modern century, not being able to identify your housemates and communicate well with them is causing more harm than good. the public should find ways to have a good bond with their neighbours irrespective of the nature of their works.