Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is more common for companies now to opt for large- space office interior style rather than individual cabins for their workspace. This essay will discuss that the merits of having an open space office help increase productivity and, which compensate for the demerits such as the chaotic environment. In current times, jobs have become more sedentary than ever before. This means employees spend a majority of their time sitting in one place for long hours. As a result, people lose focus and get easily bored which may impact their productivity. E.g. FAANG companies are setting examples for creating big workspaces with various amenities like standing work tables, couches, etc., that allow their employees to go around the office and work from anywhere. This change in style has shown great results in the employee happiness index at work, especially with the younger generation. Additionally, this can also help in building better work relationships among colleagues as they see each other more and are easy to reach. Despite these advantages, some may argue that more structured space allows people to work in quiet and avoid unexpected interruptions from constant movement around them. If there are too many people working in the same space, it might become difficult for those who like to work in quiet. However, I believe this can be balanced by managing the number of people working in any particular office space so that any chaotic situations can be avoided. In conclusion, companies need to understand their employees and adopt new trends to increase employee happiness. The benefits of big spaces at work outbalance the drawbacks.