Some people think that managers alone should make decisions in the company, while others think that employees should be involved in the decision-making process too. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The debate surrounding leadership styles has been as old as the business world. While many find command-and-control desirable for an organization, others are in favour of collaboration with employees engaged in the decision-making process. The following essay will look into these approaches before giving personal opinion. Subscribers of autocratic management argue that this style thrives in times of setbacks when the business is prone to constant change. With all but power centralized in hand, authoritarian leaders can speed decisions in response to urgencies on behalf of the employees without rallying their approvals. Evidence of this style abound both in streamlined organizational structures and in large firms, for example, Microsoft of Bill Gate or SpaceX of Elon Musk. Dogmatic and dictating as they often are, decisions made by these leaders have historically provided directions and led their companies through many turbulent situations. On the other side of the debate are supporters of a more collaborative leading style. In essence, their argument bases on studies touting the benefits of a heterogenous team of employees whose talents will presumably beget innovations. Strong illustrations for this are creative industries such as publishing, performing arts or video games. As these economies are oftentimes competitive, in order to single out the best and brightest idea, a leader has to consult the opinions of workers with different perspectives rather than resort to a single-handed decision. In brief, unlike democratic management which taps into all resources the employees have to offer, the archaic autocratic style can undeniably hold a company in good stead for weathering challenges. Although it is now more common to see modern business practice embracing the former approach, this leadership fashion is by no means a one-size-fit-all business model. In reality, I believe the ability to analyse situations and to adjust leadership models accordingly, even if it entails compromising, is a must-have for leaders.