Nowadays scientists and tourists can travel to remote natural environments such as the South Pole. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of this development?

Setting foot to secluded natural environments has been no longer out of reach for scientists and tourists in this technologically pervasive world. While I concede this adventure travel is of multiple values, there are many risks attached to it. On the one hand, there are irrefutably several reasons why exploring exotic areas on Earth is a worthwhile experience. The purpose of gaining knowledge is evidently a major advantage. Specifically, individuals will not only enhance their awareness of different subjects, such as geography and biology, but also have better understanding of our planet. In addition, many areas may contain potential resources, which will be of tremendous use in improving human's living standards. Indeed, the exploration of the Amazon forest have triggered the discovery of herbal medicines that could cure many diseases. Nevertheless, the hazards involved in embarking on such exquisite trips could hardly be overlooked. Firstly, mass tourism might take a toll on regional flora and fauna. This is because of activities from excessive hordes of tourists, such as littering, would likely wreck their living environments. Furthermore, some special locations are widely known for extreme weather conditions. The South Pole, for example, is proven to have one of the most severe climates on Earth, with temperatures falling below zero degrees throughout the year. These places are, therefore, merely advisable for those with great strength and high endurance, otherwise serious health problems are unavoidable. In conclusion, although discovering novel regions is clearly desirable in some aspects, it is my view that the perils are more discouraging.