The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

In recent centuries, the global produces electricity by burning fossil fuels, some people think it is not a problem that should be solved instantly, while this essay believes that it should be the most important global priority. On the one hand, using new renewable energy can protect the environment. Nowadays, countries generate electricity by burning fossil fuels like coal and petroleum, they emit a lot of greenhouse gases and it will cause global warming or extreme weather. If the world can invest or develop some new energy, traditional ways to generate electricity can be replaced and fewer fossil fuels will be burnt. It can slow down the rate of global warming and prevent the earth temperature from increasing too quickly. As the earth is the area where we live, protecting the environment is definitely the most important thing to tackle. On the other hand, using safe alternatives to fossil fuels can protect human’s safety. Some methods to make electricity are dangerous and may cause death to humans. For instance, burning coal will emit many ashes and shoots, exposing to these pollutants can damage people's respiratory and nervous systems, it will increase the risk of suffer from lung cancer and heart disease. Moreover, mining accident is very common, underground explosion and flooding may kill thousands of workers. If the global can explore some ways to replace fossil fuels, it can protect human's health and also prevent accidents from happening. Protecting human's life is very crucial and so it is the global priority. To conclude, burning coal, petroleum and natural gas will negatively affect the environment and people, so new methods should be developed.