Task 2: Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Compared with many years ago, the amount of food that has been withdrawn is increased. This essay will discuss the main reason for this behaviour and the most appropriate strategies to reduce the quantity of food that has been wasted. The main cause of wasted food in large amounts is consumerism attitude. This is meaning, that people tend to order more foods than they actually need. For instance, 75% is the rate of food wasted at Australian restaurants according to the national centre for research in 2020. Without consumerism culture, the level of wasted food would not be raised. Therefore, the most important cause for raised amount of wasted food from shops or restaurants is people consumerism tendency. Regarding the most appropriate solution to reduce the amount of thrown-away food is posing tax. Because people tend to follow the rules when there is a financial punishment. Today, for example, customers of Saudia Arabia restaurants have to pay additional fees, if there is the amount of food would be wasted. Without regulations like this, restaurant clients will order more food than they need to eat. As a result, tax is the most efficient solution to eliminate the trend of the increased amount of food wasted. In conclusion, there is a significant rise in the amount of restaurant and shop food that withdrawn. This essay considered that consumerism behaviour as the main motivation behind food waste. Furthermore, the tax is the most effective solution to reduce how much food would be withdrawn.