Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

An important amount of public money goes to cultural activities such as music and theatre. However, it is considered, by some, unnecessary and they think this fund should be invested in public services instead. I disagree that government investment in arts is a waste. This will be proven by analysing the important role which this sector is playing in the economy, as well as the encouragement of individuals’ creativity. Firstly, the role of music, movies and every art form is very important in any nation’s wealth. For instance, it is widely known that many countries depend on all types of artistic activities to promote their image, in fact, some artists put their home countries on the map with the popularity and influence they have thus boosting their tourism. As a result, art is considered a key element in any nation’s GDP. Therefore this makes it clear that governments are not misspending when putting resources in this sector. Secondly, by supporting artists governments encourage individuals’ creativity. For example, the tech giant Apple look at this quality as a major asset for its prospective employees. This is why today’s market designers, engineers even software developers are required to have creative skills. Thus it is undeniably apparent that investing money in art is paramount. To summarise, artistic activities is one of the major factors in any society’s growth and it induces people to innovate and think differently in solving problems. Therefore, it is wrong to think that by putting taxes payers’ money into creative activities we are wasting it. After thorough analysis on this subject, it is recommended that more resources ought to be allocated to create more art schools and institutions.