These days, we are seeing an increasing amount of violence on television, and this is having a negative impact on children's behavior. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increase in cruelty featured on mass media in recent times. It is argued by some people that this trend has detrimental effects on the way young ones behave. I agree with this view, as violence promotes bullying and it desensitizes children’s view of crime. First of all, the rampant brutality on the television encourages youngsters to bully others. Violent movies promote the belief that a person needs to outpower others with force in order to succeed. For example, action movies such as Road to Death make children think that they can threaten or even kill their colleagues with guns. As a result, some youngsters imitate what they see on the screen and became bullies and a threat in schools. Furthermore, many kids are attracted to crime because of the violence they watch on TV. This occurs owing to the fact that the major characters in movies they watch play the role of criminals, which makes them love those roles. For instance, a recent Child Psychology repost in the United Kingdom linked the surge in juvenile theft crimes and knife attacks to the cruelty features on the TV. Therefore if there have been a reduction in the violence on the big screen, there would have been a significant decline in juvenile crimes in many societies. In conclusion, while there has been a rise in violence shown on TV, this has resulted in deleterious effects on children’s behaviour, as many young people are motivated to bully others and view crime as normal today. Efforts geared toward educating parents about this harmful consequence should be promoted.