Young people who commit crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether punishment should be imposed equally on adolescents. I totally disagree with this opinion because of the inability for of young people to pay fines and the lack of social responsibility that they have. The main reason why I believe that youngsters should not be applied the same rules as adults when they breach the law is a financial problem. Children are basically not capable of paying for fines and the fines would be paid by their parents. Parents are considered to be responsible for their child and therefore, imposing a fine does not stop teenagers from carrying out crimes. Another reason why I support the notion that punishing the youth in the same way as grown-ups is not effective is due to the lack of recognition of the negative impacts by of being put into prison. Adolescents often have very complex feelings and might be in desperation, which could make them take a risk of devastating their future. For them, the possibility of being sent to jail would not change their behaviours. In summary, imposing the same punishments on the youth as adults would not be as effective as adults due to the fact that the systems of punishment do not fit into young people.