Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since digital technology is now replacing their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout the world have debated whether spending time to maintain public places such as libraries is considered waste due to the advent of technology. This essay completely disagrees with the statement. In my opinion, traditional places for reading cannot be replaced by technology because of its immense benefits. This essay will explain my views with relevant examples. Firstly, libraries have resources from authorised writers so we can rely on the information. This means to say that there are many amateurs posting articles on the internet because the digital world has given access to everyone. Hence, the content is not reliable as reading books published by recognized authors in the public libraries. For example, most of the students refer to blogs in order to complete their assignments and not pass in academics. Therefore, it is not advisable to depend on the education sources available on the online platform. Secondly, libraries are dedicated to education which improves our concentration. This is to say that it is a quiet place with no distractions whereas when you read on computers it pops up many adverts related to games which will deviate our concentration. In addition, people who spend too much time watching computers are highly vulnerable to diseases such as eye problems, posture issues, and so on. For instance, it has been reported that 80% of people are having backaches because of sitting in front of computers for a prolonged period of time. Consequently, libraries can be enhanced with the help of digital technology but they cannot replace it. To conclude, although civilians believe that maintaining a library is a waste of time because of technological advancements, in my,opinion it is considered beneficial with regards to the benefits such as reading materials from reliable writers, improving our attention, and avoiding health-related problems.