In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is a widely-held belief that children can attain everything with vigorous attempt. This notion can be a double-edged sword and may have some positive and negative effects on youngsters that will be discussed in this essay respectively. Many merits can be said about this idea. Firstly, it may develop special mentality in children that would prevent them from being comfort seekers. Thus, they learn they would have achieved benefits provided that they endeavored in every aspect of their lives. Examples can be seen in schools among students who study harder and achieve higher points in their exams consequently. Moreover, this idea may lead them to have more self-confidence as they learn to rely on themselves and their hard work in every situation. Those with having the cited viewpoint appear to have more independent characters. Based on the results of some research, youngers with developed mentioned point of view have stronger and self-supporting personalities not only in their childhood but also in older ages. Turning to some negative points of this belief, children may become perfectionists. This may lead to some negative effects on their mental status. For instance, those with this type of disorder have less amount of self-esteem and believe that they neglect in everything which can adversely influence their mentality. In addition, youngers may harm themselves physically as they try harder than their capability to accomplish in every circumstances. Thus, they may become exhausted and cease to do anything suddenly. For example, there are many children who stop attending classes suddenly due to fatigue resulted from doing physical activities more than their capacity for a short period of time. To conclude, it seems that teaching young generation hard work in order to achieve everything in their lives can have both helpful or hazardous results on their characters. It may cause them being self-confident or may develop dependent characters.