People these days watch TV, films, and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that people these days enjoy watching TV, films, and other programmes by themselves rather than with other people. From my perspective view, this matter has both merit and demerit effects, but the positive sides far outweigh the negative ones. On the one hand, it is evident that watching Tv alone will bring some prominent favorable impacts. Firstly, people can enjoy greater flexibility as they can watch programs of their reference without having to consult with anyone. It is obvious that folks will feel annoyed when they have to watch programs they do not like, so most people tend to choose to enjoy themselves watching programs alone. The second point is that people can enjoy a quiet atmosphere. It is hard to deny that people, especially introverted ones like a peaceful atmosphere as when they watch their own interesting movie, they can immerse themselves in their virtual worlds, which stimulate their creative thinking as well as their emotions. On the other hand, despite the above desirable impacts, I am convinced that this issue actually has more noticeable demerits. Firstly, watching programs alone can loosen social bonds between family members. It is apparent that with the advancement of technology, more devices are devised to satisfy human demands, everyone has their own device, leading to the increase of generation gap, so there is no better choice than gathering and watching TV together as it not only increases the solid ties of family members, but it also improves the atmosphere in the family. Another point is that nations who watch television by themselves might suffer from some mental health, such as autism, despair,... For example, my friend spends almost ten hours a day watching TV, and now he has been diagnosed with autism as he is always possessed by crowded places. In conclusion, despite the fact that the content of shows has changed substantially, it is imperative to watch them with a group to enjoy and make a stronger bond with friends. I reckon that disadvantages have more severe repercussions than advantages and one should socialize with people while relishing these sources of entertainment. Moreover, I also believe that film producers should make more interesting movies that suit all walks of life or all range of age so that everyone can watch and enjoy programs together.