Some people think the advantages of international tourism outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, international travel is one of the most developed industries in the world. The benefits that countries receive from tourists are immense. However, there are drawbacks that should be taken into account. In the essay, I will argue that the advantages of global travelling are much more than the disadvantages. One commonly known disadvantage is disease spreading. On the grounds that viruses are crossed national borders with tourists. Though the vaccination and precautionary measures eliminate that risk substantially, some nations are continuing lockdowns and restrictive rules. As a result, the dramatic decline in worldwide travel has taken place from the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic. Another disadvantage is that when a country is successful in tourism other industries in the country get less attention and resources. This phenomenon is known in economics as 'Dutch disease' since the decline in the manufacturing sector in the Netherlands took place after a large gas field was discovered there. On the other hand, the value of international tourism can't be overestimated. The main benefit is that people can enjoy new countries and cultures. Moreover, this is not only a leisure activity but a means of self-development and spiritual growth. By travelling citizens become wiser and happier, which is the key index of a country’s success. Secondly, for many countries, foreign tourists are the prime source of income, which gives them the opportunity to preserve local nature, educate their children, and pay their living. For instance, the share of tourism income in Italy constitutes about 12% of Italy's GDP. In conclusion, in my opinion, although there are drawbacks of global travelling, the rewards are much greater. Due to the fact, that it is directly linked to people's spiritual growth and wellbeing. As well, I hope that these drawbacks, that we have encountered recently, will be overcome successfully in near future.