Some people believe that the only purpose of film is to entertain. Others say that films should always have some educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, individuals argue that the whole point of movies is to enjoy them, while others think that movies should contain educational lessons. In this essay, I will explain each side, and I will include my opinion. On the one hand, there are many movies that contain stories for entertainment, and there are various reasons why. Firstly, movies act as a form of escapism; stories about fantasy and adventurous worlds help people get distracted from reality and relieve their stress. Secondly, films allow viewers to experience new cultures, regions and timelines they may never get to experience, for example, the ancient history and the Middle Ages. Thirdly, there are movies that are made to trigger emotions such as laughter through comedy films or love through romance films. On the other hand, movies act as a powerful tool that can help people understand complex concepts about life, and this happens due to how engaging the movie environment is; for example, they combine visuals, sound, and storytelling. In addition to that, movies can teach the younger generation about life, soft skills, and how to build social networks and meet new friends. For instance, movies like Dead Poets Society help people grasp the importance of poetry better and may encourage them to start to write. Also, movies can help people get to know their future career paths, whether they are in finance, marketing, medicine, or engineering. To conclude, although movies should have moral values, I do not think they should always contain educational lessons; sometimes watching for fun is good.