Sports today is turning into a business and there are companies involved that sponsors sports with ever growing prize money for the sportsmen as a part of their advertising. Some people agree to this because it has a good effect on the world of sports, other disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The growing economy of the world is witnessing lot of opportunities in the field of sports from business perspectives. The idea of the making money from sports advertisement by providing sponsorship to the sportsperson has been supported by a certain group of people. However, there are certain people who dont support this way of marketing. In the following paragraph we would discuss both the views of such kind of marketing gimmick. The idea of taking sports as a profession in todays younger generation is encouraged by their parents unlike past years. In a country like India where millions of youth want to excel their career in sports is not only because of passion but also to huge amount of money it brings into their life. The businesses wants to be in to the eyes of the people by providing sponsorship to the most beloved sportsperson. For instance, Virat Kohli who is the most admired cricketer in the world, is being sponsored by Nike. The company is responsible to provide him all the sports related equipments which are needed by him and in return he has to endorse the brand on television and also on other social media platforms. This way the company attracts more and more customers who admire Kohli and end up buying products of that company. However, on the other side, there are some disadvantages of such advertisement startegy being adotped by the companies. Increasing influx of money into sports brings along the dark clouds of corruption into it. For example, a book by Abhay chaudhry on famous Indian cricketer Azarudin revealed that he was involved in the match fixing. He had took hefty amount of money from the sponsors to act as per their needs. This resulted in tarting the image of his own and of the cricket. In addition to it, too many sponsorers take away the charm of the game, because then they are the ones who are controlling the game. In a nutshell, I would like to conclude that involvement of the sponsors in the sports is not a bad idea untill and unless it is done in a regulated manner without harming the charm of the game and its spirit.