It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is no doubt that taking a year off after graduating from high school and before enrolling in educational institution classes has become extremely prevalent. Teenagers may be able to pay attention to their emotional condition and rest as a consequence, but I believe they will have concentration problems when they return to the institution. To begin with, youngsters study nonstop in school and college, without a break. Firstly, it brings mental tiredness, which is detrimental to their psychological wellbeing, and as a result of mental exhaustion, undergraduates seem to be unable to study as they once did, and they are unable to take a break at this moment due to preparation for admission to the university. Because this phase is arduous and distinct for them, they must analyze it appropriately, as supported by some credible studies. To cite an instance, as per recent research by Times, only 20% of the students who cleared the IIT exam in 2018 were freshers and the rest of them were one-year droppers. According to research, the brain and body may perform better during relaxation, which plays a significant role in the lives of students. As a result, it is preferable for finalists to invest this breaktime focusing exclusively on their mental health. On the other hand, taking a one-year pause between entering university and graduating from high school may be detrimental to education. It will take some while for them to commence learning something new since they will also need to review all they have previously studied. It has the potential to be bothersome for them, which has never happened previously. Many studies have indicated that when the human brain is distracted for a considerable length of time, it requires a while to concentrate on it, which takes a little amount of effort to recover. For example, a recent study revealed that 60% of the students who took a year off before joining the academy had done nothing fruitful and thus it was a total waste of time. In conclusion, taking a one-year gap may cause the student to not only spend time on mental wellbeing but also to forget what they know and have problems with concentration, therefore it is pertinent to organize this interval wisely and continue their educational lives in a measured way.