Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Many are of the opinion that schools should determine classes according to academic ability and distinguish stronger from weaker students. In my opinion, though this must be carefully managed, it is a logical proposal. Those who prefer mixed-ability classes argue the wider societal implications. If all the brightest students are grouped together, this can essentially create a class system within schools that may then persist later in life. The weaker students will become insecure and feel they are being left behind. A student who has been consistently studying in a lower level class will have virtually no chance of joining a class that has been progressing at a faster pace for years. They are stuck within their group and social mobility becomes virtually impossible. This mirrors the class divisions that exist in society and puts less privileged students who tend to be from vulnerable backgrounds at a sizeable and permanent disadvantage. However, allowing students to learn with equally capable peers will lead to the best overall progress. This applies to both students who excel at academics and those who struggle. If a student, for instance, cannot master new mathematics but is in a class with students who learn quickly, then they will never grasp the concepts. If the other students in the class work similarly slowly, they may not advance as far but at least they will be able to take the requisite time to understand the math. Naturally, this is even more beneficial for more capable students. They will be able to work quickly through units and subjects without feeling bored by the pace of the lessons. Over time, their progress will grow exponentially faster as the strongest students compete and push each other to new heights of achievement. In conclusion, the distinctions between students must be skillfully arranged but any step that makes learning more individualized is positive. The ideal school system enables students to work at their own speed.