Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Watching television for entertainment has significantly increased over the past few decades. However, it is believed by few people that reading books could help in building imagination power and command over the language. This essay totally agrees with this statement because reading is an essential exercise for the brain and helpful in the creation of new thoughts. Also, it encourages an individual to pay attention to a text written in books for better understanding. To begin with, people who regularly read books have more ideas in their minds compared to someone who consumes video content. Moreover, turning a few pages of your favourite book can certainly provide you with an escape from reality, which is responsible for provoking thoughts. For example, a study showed, those who have a habit of reading, generally have better decision making qualities and greater thinking abilities Moreover, when people watch television, they are not able to attain the level of supreme attention. While reading requires a variety of skills such as skimming and scanning of a text, mastering of which can help in improving the concentration. Furthermore, it is a great way to become adept at language. To exemplify, a survey showed that people who daily consume content from newspapers and books have better focus and fluency over a language. In conclusion, unlike bygone days, consuming content on television has become an addiction. However, people can take immense benefits from reading books, which helps in developing insights, as it is a great exercise of the brain. Also, it forces you to pay focus on the intricacies of writing style, which is helpful in building language skills.