‘All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’ How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

It is often said that youngsters should start school and learn a foreign language to be bilingual parallel. It would appear that there is no urge and the appropriate time to start another language varies in each individual. Firstly, every child has different talents and abilities compared to their peers, so providing that all pupils started a foreign language at early ages would be troublesome for some groups and make them fall behind with their studies. In addition, students should not be obligated to start learning and speaking other languages unless they desire to do so. This means that forcing a child who is at least a bit interested in being bilingual might end up quitting learning and never starting again. Finally, living in a cutting-edge area provides various facilities that help individuals broaden their knowledge. It means that, even if children do not begin a foreign language as they start going to school, that will not count as a drawback. Due to mass media and the Internet, they could gradually participate in online courses and even watch videos on YouTube channels and enhance their speaking skills in their intended foreign language. So important is to speak a foreign language that it influences everyone’s life and career. Consequently, the majority of parents provide the opportunity for their children to start a new language, as they are aware that due to the phenomenon called ‘ Global Village”, being able to communicate with people all around the globe is a must. In addition, having proficiency in other languages besides maternal’s enhance people’s chance to be recruited in international and well-established corporations. It means that companies seeking for workforce prefer the applicants who are more competent to improve companies' performance. To conclude, regardless of the negative aspects of parallel schooling and learning to speak a foreign language, some families obligate their children to do so. However, it would appear that letting youngsters decide an appropriate time is much practical, and as they grow up, they will realize the importance and the urgency of being bilingual.