As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that businesses have many important responsibilities towards societal issues along with making money. I completely agree with this notion that conglomerates should be working on tackling socio-economic problems and should not only concentrate on making money. On the one hand, there are several reasons why the primary objective of industry is to earn a profit. Logically, there are so many companies that have a top priority of promoting revenues so as to cover its running costs such as employees’ wages or payment for buildings and utilities. On top of these costs, companies also need to invest in improvements and innovations to sustain a successful position in the business world. If a company is unable to pay the bills or have some stumbling blocks from a modification of customers’ needs, any concerns about social responsibilities are irrelevant. In other words, unless a company is in good financial health, it will not make a positive contribution to society. On the other hand, businesses nowadays play an integral role in society instead of solely focusing on making money. Firstly, being socially responsible can help businesses attract more custom. For example, If a brand gives charitable donations, customers will more likely to come back as they know part of their payments will go into charity funds and help other people. Secondly, business activities may have effects on the environment. Production processions could lead to serious environmental degradation such as global warming stemming from factories’ emissions or irresponsible discharging of industrial waste. In order to run a sustainable business, It is necessary for factories to have a waste treatment system before disposing of their waste into the environment. In conclusion, I would emphasize that while making a profit is a top priority for businesses, social obligations should also be considered as an important aspect