Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether physical or mental strength is the key factor for a sportsman to be successful. Personally, I would argue that the importance of those two qualities is equally equivalent. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why it could be argued that sports players need to have a strong mental attitude to reach the top. Firstly, sportspeople, who are determined and competitive, are likely to win the match with their win-at-all-costs spirits. They might have to endure long hours of intensive training, therefore, their ambitious qualities play a key role in helping them stay focused on that tedious and exhausting practice time. Secondly, if sports trainers were not mentally strong, they would find it hard to overcome difficulties and failures on the way to achieving success. For instance, disabled athletes have always been struggling with their birth defects and injuries, but with their wills to take efforts as well as their strong-minded and courageous and persistent qualities, these handicapped trainers could be strongly motivated to have the chance of placing their hands on the trophy of glory. On the other hand, being physically strong is also a must-have quality to be successful in sports. Obviously, the vast majority of sports demands players to be fit and flexible so that they could easily achieve success. Examples of these kinds of sports are weightlifting, martial art, and boxing. Yet all other sports also demand physical strength for stamina and endurance, even sailing or horse-riding. Some sports stars have even used illegal substances, like performance-enhancing drugs, in order to reach and maintain top physical condition, risking their careers. In conclusion, I firmly believe that both physical and mental strength are necessary for sportsmen to achieve success in their careers.