A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The idea that people should not use animals and should give them similar rights is gaining ground among people. Others, however, disagree and believe that people should continue to consume animals to cater to their needs. In this essay I will look at both sides of the argument and state my opinion in favour of the first. On the one hand, animals are very similar to humans in many aspects and they have emotions such as hunger, protection and love. Most people think that they are superior to animals only because they are more susceptible and cannot express themselves with human language. However, animals are an integral and complementary part of our world just like humans, and some of their characteristics are more developed than those of humans. Example: Dogs are known for their engagement and excellent sense of smell, while humans do not have this sense. Even though they can not explain themselves and do not live like humans, they have an enormous importance to the world and there is no reasonable reason to consider them slaves. On the other hand, it is necessary for humans to benefit from the opportunities that animals provide because of the unbroken food chain. The most important and crucial point in the use of animals is that humans should refrain from harming them or depriving them of living in happy, comfortable and non-abusive conditions. To give a clear example: It is not unethical to use surplus cow's milk as a nutrient. However, a significant number of farmers torture their animals and now consider them only as useful tools. In conclusion, I believe that animals should have the same rights as humans. I believe that if people try to look at the big picture of living things, they will find that there is no great descriptive factor between humans and animals. I concede that there are some differences, but we should not look at animals as a repository of our needs, because they do not see us that way.