The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, there are many methods for people to obtain knowledge. Not only the book but also the different kinds of media such as the Internet, short film etc. The main purpose of public libraries is to let people enhance their knowledge while it should not be limited to the way to learn. In my view, I totally disagree with this statement and in this essay will discuss the reason in-depth. To begin with, libraries is to provide knowledge to the public. Reading in paper-based materials, like books, newspapers or magazines is one kind of method. Having hi-media such as computer software, videos and DVDs are also useful for people to study new information. For instance, the Internet can provide much updated or trendy news. Secondly, there is a brunch of books and videos in the world. It is difficult for people to purchase all their favourite books or movie videos. People can borrow from libraries, also there have many options for them to choose from. In addition, it will be more environmentally friendly as the books or videos will not become useless after reading. Finally, libraries are friendly to low-income families. They do not have extra money to buy the books or videos or even the computer updated software. So that they can go to libraries to enjoy the hi-tech media or borrow the book without spending any money. In conclusion, libraries should be included different ways for people to learn and study which is not limited to only paper-based materials. From my perspective, I believe the other facilities are essential in libraries.