Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the recent decade, people choose to use their smartphones when they have leisure time, this essay will state the reasons for this and explain why it is a negative development. On the one hand, there are two key reasons for this phenomenon. The main reason is because of the advancement of technology. As technology has been developing rapidly, smartphones are becoming more and more common, almost every citizen will own a smartphone nowadays. When they are bored, they use their phones to play games or watch videos for entertainment. People will then become addicted and spend most of their free time on it. Another reason is that we need to use phones to stay in contact. People can keep in touch with their friends through social media like Instagram and Facebook, it allows us to communicate with friends anywhere and anytime, eliminating geographical boundaries. As a result, people like to spend time to use their phone for browsing social media. On the other hand, there are two reasons why it is a negative development. Firstly, it will reduce real-life interactions. When people only focus on their phones when they have free time, they will not choose to get involved in social activities. This will reduce the chance for people to meet with their friends or family and it may affect their relationships. Moreover, it may affect people's health. When people are addicted to their phones, they may use it for the whole day without taking a rest. This may lead to neck pain or short sight and it will negatively affect their health. To conclude, there are a few reasons for why people spend a lot of time on smartphone, however this essay believes that it is a negative development.