Smokers can cause themselves serious health problems. The choice to smoke is made freely and with knowledge of dangers. Smokers should therefore expect to pay more for medical treatment than non-smokers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Health issues from smoking have increased significantly over the past few decades. Those who smoke heavily, have put their life at risk. However, anyone can pick this deadly habit as there are no restrictions on it. It is therefore believed that smokers spend a lot more money on their treatments in comparison to non-smokers. This essay entirely agrees with this statement as it immensely affects the well-being of consumers and becomes the cause of cancer. To begin with, since, selling cigarettes is not banned, it is easily accessible in every part of the world and people are consuming even after knowing the harmful effects of it. For instance, there is an established law, which guides manufacturers to put statutory warnings on the packs and despite knowing it, consumers do not stop purchasing such items. It is generally believed by the public that this addiction can help them in getting rid of stress and anxiety. Furthermore, there are some researches that state that, if done in limitation, it is good for the enhancement of memory. Thus, there is a large number of users who smokes and are totally aware of its dangerous effects. Because smoking is responsible for serious health damage, it creates a risk of financial investments for medical treatments. It has been seen that the respiratory system gets damaged severely and the chances of developing cancer are life-threatening. Furthermore, medical care for such patients can get expensive. For example, the risk of developing throat diseases are more in this case and to treat the cause, the surgery methods are complex and costly. In conclusion, although people choose to smoke despite having knowledge of its dangers, however, the negatives of smoking are numerous and are hazardous for health. It is also a major cause of throat cancer in youngsters which is an inevitable situation for society. Also, patients suffer a lot from highly expensive medications and surgeries.