Many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over whether it is positive or negative for numerous nations to import a huge amount of food from others. I would contend that this phenomenon has both pros and cons, however its disadvantage cannot overshadow its counterpart. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is greatly beneficial for abundant countries to import food from other nations in the world. The international relationship can be developed because of food importation. To be more particular, Vietnam tends to import fresh beef from the United States, not only because it has the best beef quality in the world in this day and age but also in order to make the relation between Vietnam and America more sustainable. Hence, food importation may make the international relation become more durable between distinct nations in the world. While the redeeming feature of food import is widely acknowledged, its counterpart still lingers. When food is imported from other countries, the farmers whose main job is to plant and sell agricultural products will lose their livelihood, which makes their lives more difficult. To be more specific, strawberries which can only be harvested and sold in cold weather but they are always available and can be found in every supermarket which imports food from other countries for the time being. Thus, agricultural farmers could lose their source of livelihood because of food importation. In conclusion, the upside of food importation from other countries in the world may outweigh its counterpart.