Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the years, pressure from fellows has risen in popularity in youngsters' life. This essay will highlight why the positives that result from such a trend are outweighed by its negatives. To begin with the advantages, a crucial benefit of peer group pressure is that it guides adolescents in becoming the best version of themselves. This is because older friends are often considered as role models whose duty it is to show a greater or a higher level of maturity and responsibilities to those who are still learning how to behave responsibly. This means that while seeking advices from wiser individuals, teenagers often tend to broaden their horizon when being controlled by others. Beside, being influenced by a group of people at school enables teenagers to achieve their learning goals successfully. As they tend to follow guidance from other classmates, this might help learners to reach higher grades, thus not falling behind their studies. Nevertheless, peer pressure does present some issues. For instance, bullying at class time has been one of the most significant threat for a large number of pupils. Considering that, emotional abuse is a situation that often leads to isolation rather than a state of peacefullness for young adults. Another significant disadvantages of being influenced by peers is that it decreases a sense of autonomy. Such an environment is likely to prevent weak-minded people from standing up for themselves, therefore personal opinions towards subjects or topics are sometimes omitted. To conclude, the benefits of being guided and enhancing success in younger generations are outweighed by the negatives of psychological pressure and freedom of conscience.