Technology is being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Over the years, the use of ICTs in school settings has risen in popularity over the alternative of relying on traditional ways of teaching. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such a trend. To begin with the positives, a crucial advantage is that technology in education plays a key role to offer students a more student-centered approach of teaching rather than a teacher-centered way of teaching. This is because learners are able to grasp the knowledge in total autonomy without relentlessly seeking the guidance of their educators. Beside being involved in playful activities which not require manuals or textbooks,young adults in secondary schools often enhance their problem-solving skills via interactive online learning softwares, thus successfully improving their learning outcomes at their own pace. Nevertheless, the twenty- first century model of learning does present some problems. One significant disadvantage is the increase of cyberbullying during classtime. For example, e-learning often necessitates the use of the Internet therefore, it is highly likely that some peers might feel unsafe when relying on online sources as they offer little room for a trustful and confidential browsing. Another important issue is the fiability ability of websites students may use while performing tasks with their computers. As a plethora of online contents are accessible for them, students should be mindful of their correct use. To conclude, although modern teaching brings a greater range of resources which improves student success and independence, the safety and reliability of using technology in the learning environment need to be taken into consideration.