With an increasing overweight population some people think university should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses.

As the percentage of obesity has increased rapidly these days, some people think that academic institutions should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses. In this essay, reasons on why participating in sport activities should be compulsory at the universities will be discussed. First of all, nowadays, most young people use mobile phones all the time and do less physical activities. They hardly ever go out and communicate with their friends through mobile phones. As a result, they become overweight and have other health problems. Another reason why the universities should have a compulsory sport class is that by taking part in sport activities, students will have a chance to meet other people with different cultural backgrounds and traditions. As a result, they will become healthier as well as their communication and social skills, and teamworks will also be improved. Furthermore, having a compulsory sport class at the universities will also bring some benefits to the parents and relatives of the students. Most parents or close relatives of the students often tend to accompany their children if there is a sport tournament or sport activity held at the universities. As a result, they will become more interested in physical activities and sometimes they would even do or practice physical activities together with their children at home, which would make them fitter and healthier. To conclude, the universities should make the sport a compulsory module on all degree courses because it will bring benefits to the students as well as their parents or relatives.