living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems ,as well as practical problems. To what extent you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, the rapid promotion of globalization results in a phenomenon that people from all over the world stay in the same country. Thus, it brings out some undeniable issues, such as the language barrier, which leads to some drawbacks in a nation. In my personal view, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, it can not be ignored that speaking a different dialect is harmful to harmony in society. For example, when people communicate with their friends or clients via various languages, some incorrect information occurs, which causes some misunderstandings. It is detrimental to cooperation and friendships among businesses and individuals. However, the benefits of speaking in another language are more than that of the drawbacks. On the other hand, it increases cultural diversity in a country. Various languages are related to their own unique cultures. For example, there are four main races in Singapore, which are Chinese, Malay, Indian, and Eurasian. They use their own mother tongue with their families and friends in their personal lives. But there is a universal language, English, as their official language for work and formal occasions. Hence, they are encouraged to learn different cultural customs and to respect distinct cultures. In addition, it is believed that using foreign languages will preserve their own culture. It is beneficial for people to make their nation famous, which improves the cultural soft power. To sum up, although the language barrier will lead to some problems in society, I think the profits will promote social prosperity.